The Truth Lies at the Bottom of a Mountain in BOOM!’s Blow Away

Hot off of his hit adaptation of the seminal paranormal non-fiction novel Hunt for the Skinwalker, Zac Thompson along with star artist Nicola Izzo (Buffy The Last Vampire Slayer) team-up for a neo-noir crime thriller in the tradition of Fargo and Rear Window in BOOM! Studio’s BLOW AWAY!

Unyielding wildlife videographer Brynne Brautigan, isolated in the frigid, remote Baffin Island sees something she can’t unsee…

In the distance, she witnesses an argument followed by an instance of intense violence between two climbers–did she just see a murder? In a frantic search for the truth, Brynne discovers just what she’s looking for, but soon she will find that more than the silent white of winter is keeping her company…

BLOW AWAY #1 features covers by Annie Wu (Hawkeye), Tyler Boss (Dead Dog’s Bite), and Tula Lotay (Barnstormers).

“Ever since I first watched Francis Ford Coppola’s The Conversation, I’ve dreamt of telling a paranoid thriller story. Blow Away is that dream made manifest through an incredible collaboration with Nicola,” said writer Zac Thompson. “We’ve crafted a neo-noir mystery about obsession and the slippery and subjective nature of the truth. Really, it’s a big love letter to Brian De Palma and Alfred Hitchcock where suspense is the driving force on every page.”

“But beyond all of that, Blow Away is the story of a wildlife videographer who may have recorded a murder,” he added. “We’re arguably living in the most obsessive, post-truth era where regular people are routinely turned into subjects of collective scrutiny. So what happens when you explore those ideas in a place that is entirely removed from that culture? Does something still bleed through? Can a person whose job it is to see patterns really trust their eyes?”

“It’s great to work on a project that allows me to explore the comic book medium in such a cinematic way,” said artist Nicola Izzo. “I owe this to Zac’s multi-layered writing that creates suspense and interest at a FANTASTIC pace. I have always been fascinated by movies and comics where the direction is used in a three-dimensional way that focuses on storytelling and where the environment is an active part of the narrative. I hope all my passion for it translates to the page.”

“Isolation, paranoia, misinformation. These are important benchmarks of a good noir story, and are the core pillars of Blow Away,” said series editor Elizabeth Brei. “Zac and Nicola are telling such an engaging, tight story. They are a team made for each other and are bringing something very different to crime comics with this one.”

BLOW AWAY #1 will be available in comic shops April 17, 2024. It is available for pre-order at your local comic shop. Digital copies can be purchased from content providers, including Kindle, iBooks, and Google Play.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ThePullbox.com is a part of ThePullbox LLC © 2007-2022