Tangent: Superman’s Reign #1

Tangent: Superman’s Reign #1 (of 12) (DC – Jurgens / Clark / Pasarin / Delperdang)

The Tangent Earth and the DC Earth are about to collide! In the years since the Tangent world was last seen, a mind-reading, telekinetic Superman has taken control and brought peace, but at the cost of the world’s freedoms. And as the walls between the Tangent Earth and the DC Earth being to fall, the Tangent Superman’s visions are about to get even grander! Spinning out of the events of JUSTICE LEAGUE OF AMERICA #16, the 12-part TANGENT: SUPERMAN’S REIGN maxiseries will introduce members of the Tangent world to their DC counterparts, with events and results that will change both worlds forever! 

You know, if the DCU wasn’t right about to face the Great Disaster, and apparently get re-hawled, this wouldn’t be a half bad idea.  In 1997 and 1998 DC came up with fresh takes and new alternative feels on their title books and put them in the “Tangent” Universe, which is now one of the 52.  And the basic idea behind this series is that the Tangent heroes and Villains and our DCU are going to merge to battle a greater evil that spawns from the Tangent universe’s Big-Brother-like Superman.  The first issue was much better than I thought (but then again it is helmed by story master Dan Jurgens), but in the light of the greater DCU stories (Countdown, etc.) I’m not quite sure how this 12 issue series fits in, but it might be fun to watch. 🙂

Issue Grade: B

Please follow and like us:
Updated: November 2, 2010 — 11:03 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ThePullbox.com is a part of ThePullbox LLC © 2007-2024