Pullbox Previews new comics from Boom! Studios- August 12, 2020

From Boom! Studios- August 12, 2020

Alienated #5– Everyone knows the consequences of absolute power – and the three Sams are no exception. As their different desires come to a head, the only thing that stands in their way is each other. And Chip’s deadly powers are in the center of it all.

Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Willow #2- After the events of Hellmouth, Willow has set out on a world trip to find herself, and maybe some answers about her powers along the way. Now, in the magical-and we mean that literally-town of Abhainn, Willow seems to have found a home. After all, they tell her, the outside world is dangerous. After all, isn’t it easier just to stay in Abhainn?

The Red Mother #7– Daisy is on another continent working for Leland Black when she begins to realize that the problems she thought she left behind in New York City have followed her all the way to London. As strange things continue to happen, Daisy finds that she has a bigger puzzle that must be solved.

Read Andy’s review here

Seven Secrets #1– (Full review) For fans of Once & Future and Undiscovered Country comes an all-new original series from #1 New York Times best-selling author Tom Taylor (DCeased) and artist Daniele di Nicuolo (Mighty Morphin Power Rangers) about seven powerful secrets-words, wonders, weapons, and worse-with the power to destroy the world. Seven Secrets could destroy the world. For centuries they’ve been locked away and protected by The Order. When their stronghold is attacked and a secret revealed, the entire Order must go on the run. The Order’s youngest member, Caspar has been trained his entire life to protect the Secrets he will never know. Now is his chance to prove his worth-to become a Holder of one of the deadliest secrets in the world. But Caspar has a secret of his own. And his secret could prove more dangerous than anything the Order protects…

Something Is Killing the Children #9- With the her mysterious employers looking to recall and reprimand her, Erica’s running out of time to save the town of Archer’s Peak. Do the answers lie with the mysterious young girl found in the monster’s lair who no one can identify?

Buffy The Vampire Slayer Legacy Edition, volume 1- From Joss Whedon (creator of Buffy The Vampire Slayer) comes the official tie-in to the critically acclaimed Buffy The Vampire Slayer television series! Set during the third season of the Buffy The Vampire Slayer television series, discover untold stories of the Scooby Gang and their fight against evil in Sunnydale-all while trying not to fail their exams! Collects Buffy The Vampire Slayer #1-10 (Dark Horse Comics, published 1998-2003), as well as short stories from the era in a newly designed, value priced format that no Buffy fan can miss!

Strange Skies Over East Berlin (softcover)– When a mysterious alien probe lands outside East Berlin and into Soviet control, the Americans send their top spy in to investigate. Herring has spent the entire Cold War infiltrating the inner circles of East German intelligence for a cause he barely believes in anymore. But as he gets ever closer to the truth, he may find that the power he seeks is too dangerous for anyone to control or contain. Writer Jeff Loveness (Judas) and artist Lisandro Estherren (Redneck) present a chilling and intense thriller about a terrifying inhuman threat at the heart of the Cold War – and the one American spy who can save the world… if he can save himself first. Collects the complete 4-issue series.

Happiness Will Follow OGN (hardcover)- For the first time ever, Eisner Award-nominated artist Mike Hawthorne (Superior Spider-Man) tells the true and tragic story of enduring abuse, discovering a love of art and a passion that helped him to build the home he never had in this graphic novel memoir about family, survival, and what it means to be Puerto Rican in America. Mike Hawthorne’s mother is left alone to raise her son in New York City, a city that torments them both with its unforgiving nature. But when Mike falls victim to an old world Santeria death curse, a haunting sign from the old country of something his mother could never truly escape-she begins a series of events that drive him away both physically and emotionally. 

Ben 10: The Creature From Serenity Sore OGN (softcover)- Join Rainbow Award-winning writer CB Lee (Not Your Sidekick) and artist Mattia Di Meo (Rugrats) for the newest installment of original graphic novels based on Cartoon Network’s hit Ben 10 series. Ben, Gwen and Grandpa Max head to a beautiful seaside resort for some much-needed relaxation-but they’ll need to use all their abilities to defeat the terrifying monster ruining everyone’s good time! Luckily, Ben Tennyson isn’t your average 10-year-old… he’s also the wielder of the Omnitrix, an alien device that allows Ben to shift into 10 different alien forms from around the galaxy. Together with his cousin Gwen and his Grandpa Max, they’re going to defeat the Sharktopus and discover just who would want to ruin a good summer’s day!

Lumberjanes Volume 15 (softcover)- Jo’s birthday is coming up, and April is determined to pull out all the stops for her best friend! But when her elaborate plans for a huge, over-the-top celebration fall through, April recruits the yetis and some fellow ‘Janes to put on a play for Jo, instead. * Meanwhile, Mal has been tasked with keeping Jo busy to protect the surprise, but she might’ve done TOO good a job. Will the birthday girl make it back in time for her own party? And does she even want to? Join the celebrations with this brand-new adventure written by Shannon Watters and Kat Leyh (Super Cakes) and illustrated by talented newcomer AnneMarie Rogers. Collects issues #57-60.

Please follow and like us:
Updated: August 10, 2020 — 1:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ThePullbox.com is a part of ThePullbox LLC © 2007-2020